Prequalified Civic Artists


  • Mary L. Beebe, Director, Stuart Collection UCSD
  • Andrea Bowers, Artist
  • Mags Harries, Artist
  • John Outterbridge, Artist
  • Evonne Gallardo, Executive Director, Self Help Graphics

A jury of nationally recognized arts professionals selected artists for the Civic Artists Prequalified List based on the following criteria:


Artists were selected according to the following criteria:

  • A portfolio which demonstrates artistic merit and strong professional qualifications relative to the Civic Art Program’s guiding principles.
  • An ability to understand and translate complex challenges into unique and inspiring works of art
  • A proven track record demonstrated through education, experience and/or critical or professional recognition
  • Proven ability and capacity to:
    • Work collaboratively with civic entities and stakeholders, including oversight committees, architects and engineers, contractors, as well as community constituents
    • Manage and meet budgets and deadlines